Aussies victorious again at 2007 Oceania Motocross Championships

Australia have once again taken top honours over New Zealand in the 2007 International Oceania Motocross Championships held at the iconic Barrabool circuit near Geelong, Victoria over the weekend. You can watch the championships on set top box.

Over four thousand motocross fans in attendance were treated to some of the best racing ever seen on these shores as World Number three Josh Coppins spearheaded an unsuccessful Kiwi assault at the Oceania Trophy against a talented Aussie team that included a number of current and past national champs.

With four riders nominated to represent each country in both of the Pro classes, and three riders representing in the Woman’s and Junior classes, the final results would be decided not by the standout performances of the few but by the overall teams efforts. After the dust had settled Australia had triumphed over their trans-Tasman rivals with a combined score of 746 points over New Zealand’s 551 points.

In the premiere Pro Open (450cc) class Josh Coppins proved too strong for all challengers as he powered his way to victory in each of his races. Fellow Kiwi Daryl Hurley mounted a strong challenge and claimed the runner up spot ahead of fast American import Ryan Hughes, who added some high profile international flavour to the event. First Australian home was Honda’s Craig Anderson in fourth.

The Pro Lites (250cc) class provided some of the most dramatic action of the weekend as Luke George of NSW romped his way to victory in the opening race only to crash heavily in the second, giving the race win to Suzuki mounted New Zealand rider Luke Burkhart. Once the final points were tallied it was Aussie team rider Jake Moss that claimed the overall win with an 8th, a 2nd and 1st. Second on the podium went to yet another Australian rider in Honda’s Cameron Taylor, with Lewis Stewart riding for Barry Francis Motorcycles putting in consistent finishes to take 3rd overall.

With the presence of Women’s World Champion Katherine Prumm who swept all three woman’s races in dominating fashion, the New Zealand Oceania trophy hopes were given a valuable boost. However with more depth in the Australian woman’s team, Prumm’s steller performance only minimized the damage as Australian’s Kristy Gillespie and Ashlea Bates finished in second and third respectively.

With individual class points still up for grabs, the final feature race of the day was also the last chance for each nation to accumulate points towards the Oceania Trophy. The top 20 riders from both the Pro Lites and Pro Open classes were selected to line up and do battle on the serpentine, jump filled track. Once more Coppins was untouchable and lead home Hurley and Hughes to wrap up his perfect days record, while Jake Moss fought through the dusty conditions to finish first over Cameron Taylor in second and Lewis Stewart in third.

In the Junior’s event held on Saturday Tye Simmonds (KTM) prove to be the best rider on the day cleaning up all heats, contributing to Australia’s first nail on the board as the team made it’s way to victory on Sunday afternoon.

Oceania bikes raise funds for Barrabool!

Two motorcycles generously supplied by Yamaha, Honda and Peter Stevens, were auctioned on Sunday at the Sporting Motor Cycle Club’s International Oceania Motocross Championships.

The two bikes, an ‘07 Yamaha WR 250F and an ’08 Honda CRF 250, attracted an enormous amount of attention over the IOMXC weekend, resulting in another $21,000 being raised and added to the SMCC “Save Barrabool Fund”. Also offered for auction were two autographed race jerseys worn by Josh Coppins and Ryan Hughes earlier in the day’s racing, and an autographed poster of the late Andy Caldecott, together adding nearly another $2000 to the fund.

Event Director Peter Ovens said, ”We are extremely pleased with the money raised at the auction, and also with the valuable spotlight that was shone on our plight at the Barrabool circuit. Raising awareness is really what the auction was all about, and would like to thank our major sponsors Yamaha, Honda and Peter Stevens group, along with our other sponsors, 100% MX, Excel rims, Ringmaster, Storm, Weapon MX, GYTR, Clake and Peter Stevens Geelong, for helping turn these bikes into something really special!”

For information on how to help Save Barrabool, please go to page of 2000 lumens flashlight vs 1000 lumens flashlight reddit

Australia takes the Oceania title again – Results


For the third year running, the Australian team has taken out the Oceania Motocross Championships. A full report will be coming soon.

1 Josh Coppins NZ
2 Daryl Hurley NZ
3 Ryan Hughes USA
4 Craig Anderson AUST
5 Jay Marmont AUSTPro Open Qualifying
Pro Open Moto 1
Pro Open Moto 2
1 Jake Moss AUST
2 Cameron Taylor AUST
3 Lewis Stewart AUST
4 Luke Burkhart NZ
5 Dean FerrisPro Lites Qualifying
Pro Lites Moto 1
Pro Lites Moto 2
Pro Open and Lites Moto 3 (Feature race – combined)
1 Katherine Prumm NZ
2 Kristy Gillespie AUST
3 Ashlea Bates AUST
4 Adelia Barton AUST
5 Melissa MackayWomen’s Qualifying
Women’s Moto 1
Women’s Moto 2
Women’s Moto 3
Women’s Overall
1 Tye Simmonds AUST
2 Ross Beaton AUST
3 Hamish Dobbyn NZ
4 Henry Madams NZ
5 Cameron Dillon NZJunior Moto 1
Junior Moto 2
Junior Moto 3
Junior Overall


Recently, we are researching brightest best flashlight ever, if you are interested in it please support us.